Under Florida law, drivers and bicyclists must share the road. Indeed, bicyclists enjoy the same rights – and duties – as drivers. What happens when a driver passes a bicyclist? Is there a law that covers this question? How many feet of space must a driver give when passing a bicyclist?
I will discuss this issue in this blog post.
First: Drivers Must Provide At Least 3 Feet Distance When Passing Bicyclists
How many feet of space must a driver give when passing a bicyclist?
Florida Statute Section 316.083 states that drivers must provide at least 3 feet of space when passing bicyclists. Specifically, the statute states:
The driver of a vehicle overtaking a bicycle or other nonmotorized vehicle, or an electric bicycle, must pass the bicycle, other nonmotorized vehicle, or electric bicycle at a safe distance of not less than 3 feet between the vehicle and the bicycle, other nonmotorized vehicle, or electric bicycle.
Interestingly, not every state has a 3-foot passing law. Currently, over 30 states have similar laws on the books.
Second: Violation of Florida Statute Section 316.083 Results In A Fine
If a driver violates this rule, the Statute provides for a civil fine and potential points to the driver’s license.
Third: The 3-Foot Distance Rule Saves Lives
Overtaking or passing motorists are the most common cause of bicyclists’ deaths. In many ways, this is not surprising as drivers may misjudge the distance needed to pass a bicyclist, may not see the bicyclist, or may be distracted. Regardless of the cause, in Florida drivers must provide at least 3 feet of distance when passing a bicyclist.
Barthelette Law, Your Boca Raton Bicycle Accident Lawyer
Florida is the most dangerous state for bicyclists. At Barthelette Law, we have successfully represented bicycle accident victims, and are here to answer all of your questions.
If you or a loved one are involved in a bicycle accident, call us today!