Under Florida law, drivers must give 3 feet of distance when passing bicyclists. Check out the following video on this topic. The full transcript can be found below.

Florida law requires that drivers give 3 feet of distance when passing bicyclists. This is extremely important, as driving too closely to bicyclists is a frequent cause of bicycle accidents.

At Barthelette Law, we handle bicycle accidents, and have written extensively on bicycle accidents. For the steps to take after a bicycle accident, click here. To learn about making a bicycle accident claim, click here. For more information on possible insurance coverage for your bicycle accident, click here. Information on bicycle helmet safety standards is here. Bicycle accident statistics from 2020 are here. Bicycle accident statistics from 2019 can be found here. And if you want to learn about one of our recent results in a bicycle accident, click here.

If you have been involved in a bicycle accident, it would be our privilege to represent you. You can contact us here.

Full Transcript

00:07 hi i’m greg barthelette with barthelette law
00:10 as we know drivers and bicyclists
00:13 must share the road under florida law
00:16 but how much space does a driver have to
00:17 give a bicyclist when it passes the
00:19 bicyclist
00:20 is there a statute on point there is
00:23 under florida statute 316.083
00:27 when drivers pass bicyclists they must
00:29 give
00:30 or leave at least three feet of space
00:32 this is a very important law
00:35 especially because passing drivers are
00:37 the number one cause
00:38 of bicyclists death so when drivers pass
00:41 bicyclists under florida law
00:43 they have to give again at least three
00:45 feet of space
00:46 drivers be very safe and make sure
00:49 there’s adequate distance when you’re
00:50 passing a bicyclist
00:52 take care